August 3, 2003 | 12:28 AM Central Time
What?

My fellow diarists, esteemed Gold Members, and those who have no reason to be here�

Today this diary stands at the brink of a new age, a striking precipice, a landmark that those in this administration (meaning me) would never thought would come to pass. The threat of diary terrorism has been abolished, and at the promontory point of this journal, I stand before you today wondering what it is that I am supposed to say.

You are a terrorist. Don�t lie. And don�t make me come over there.

In the last couple years, I�ve developed a very bad habit of trying to make every tiny event some kind of �occasion,� usually offering trivial events more focus than they really deserve, attempting to draw out some deep life lesson from a trial on some idle Thursday, diluting myself into some poor man�s Holden Caulfield, waiting for something to sweep me away to The Next Big Thing.

And every so often, I�ll realize that another year has passed since I started writing, or that I somehow drained away an inconceivable number of hours to reach some bizarre semblance of an anniversary, a monster party I throw for myself, the type where I usually end up sitting in the corner, awkwardly nursing a bottle of Dasani and wondering why that cool girl still won�t dance with Eric. LOL.

Or I just write unnecessarily long sentences. Or sentence fragments.

The kind of metaphor that I�m used to creating is counterproductive to the reality that I find myself living every day. Because yes, sometimes bad things happen, and I look at the situation in an isolated environment, examine it, figure out how I can fix it, and by the time my inspection is finished, the world has already moved on. That�s the way life is for everyone, really. Good things come out of nowhere, and sometimes, bad stuff just happens� it�s not unique to me � life sucks across the board. But crawling my way out of it almost makes the whole thing worth it.

Do you have any idea what I am talking about? I sure don't. :-D

Oh yeah... comments from David...

"If you run out of stuff, complain about welfare abuse." Isn't he so adorable?

before | after


Goodbye... and EFF YOU! - January 14, 2004
This... sucks. - November 30, 2003
High on Life... and hyper as hell. - November 28, 2003
Happy Thanksgiving, not so happy. - November 27, 2003... Thanksgiving Day
100 exciting things about me... hehe,.. not. - November 25, 2003