September 5, 2003 | 10:07 PM Central Time
Words of the Wise

A good friend recently asked me to read a verse of Proverbs a day and spend the rest of the day thinking about what it means...

Proverbs 1:6 - To understand a proverb and an enigma, The words of the wise and their riddles.

All day, I have dwelled upon the meaning of this verse... so here goes...

On a positive note, I have learned that, no matter what happens, life does go on, and it will be better tomorrow.

I have learned that you can tell a lot about a person by the way he/she handles three things:

1) A rainy day

2) Lost luggage

3) Tangled Christmas tree lights

I've learned that regardless of your relationship with your parents, you will miss them when they are gone from your life.

I've learned that making a "living" is not the same as making a "life."

I've learned that sometimes life and God will give you a second chance.

I've learned that you shouldn't go through life with a catcher's mitt on both hands... you need to be able to throw something back.

I've learned that if you pursue happiness, it will surely elude you. But, if you focus on your family, friends, the needs of others, your work, and doing the best you can-- happiness will find you.

I've learned that whenever I decide something with an open heart, I usually make the right decision.

I've learned that even when I have pains, I don't have to be one.

I've learned that everyday, you should reach out and touch someone. People love that human touch-- holding hands, a warm hug, or just a friendly pat on the back.

And last but not least, I have learned that I still have a lot to learn.

before | after


Goodbye... and EFF YOU! - January 14, 2004
This... sucks. - November 30, 2003
High on Life... and hyper as hell. - November 28, 2003
Happy Thanksgiving, not so happy. - November 27, 2003... Thanksgiving Day
100 exciting things about me... hehe,.. not. - November 25, 2003